What Is Cost Per Click (CPC)? (2024)

CPC (cost per click) is a common term used in paid advertising.

It is also sometimes referred to as “pay-per-click.”

This comprehensive guide will dive into the basics of CPC, why it’s important, and when to use it.

What Is Cost Per Click?

Cost per click is a bidding model that determines how much advertisers pay for their ads.

The technical definition of cost per click, according to Google:

Cost-per-click (CPC) bidding means that you pay for each click on your ads.

How To Calculate Cost Per Click?

To calculate cost per click, you take your total ad cost divided by the number of clicks received.

For example, if your campaign spent $500 in a day and you received 100 clicks, your calculated CPC would be $5.00.

CPC bidding allows advertisers to set a maximum cost-per-click from a campaign bidding strategy level or down to an individual keyword level.

However, setting a maximum CPC does not mean paying that each time. The final amount charged for a click is called your actual CPC.

In each ad auction, you only pay the minimum required amount to beat the competitor’s Ad Rank right below you.

Why Is Cost Per Click Important?

Cost per click is important for many reasons.

The cost per click metric is a useful KPI to help understand:

  • Relative ROAS (return on ad spend) based on your budget and CPC.
  • Plan and forecast estimated traffic based on your budget.
  • Competitive insights on how your average CPC compares to the market.
  • Your relative ad strength.

As you can see, cost per click provides more insights than just how many clicks you get for your budget.

Concerning ROAS, understanding cost per click can help guide more accurate forecasts.

For example, if you have a high cost per click but a low daily budget, those clicks to your website must work much harder to achieve a target ROAS.

That means the website (or app) user experience needs to be fully optimized to encourage as many sales as possible.

Another reason cost per click is important? It helps you understand how competitive you are in keyword auctions.

If your ads consistently receive a low CTR (click-through rate), a big reason could be that your maximum CPC is less than your competitors.

Cost per click is also a factor that determines ad strength and ad rank.

If you have stellar ad copy and an intuitive user experience, but your ad’s CTR is low, you can narrow down the issue to your maximum CPC.

So, should the CPC metric be your marketing campaign’s main KPI (key performance indicator)? Probably not.

It is a good indicator of present competition and future performance, but there are other KPIs that are key to determining campaign success.

What Is A Good CPC?

The easy way to answer this question is: It depends.

Many factors contribute to understanding what a good CPC should be.

Elements that factor into determining what an ideal cost per click should include:

  • Industry.
  • Device type.
  • Keyword match type.
  • Competition.
  • Brand vs. Non-Brand keywords.
  • Ad rank.

Let’s address the first factor: Industry. Different industries have shown to have vastly different CPCs.

Based on an early 2022 study from LOCALiQ by Wordstream, Attorneys and Legal Services boasted the highest average CPC of $8.67.

The Real Estate industry was on the lower end of the spectrum, with an average CPC of $1.36.

Competition (or lack of) helps determine a good cost per click.

Typically, the higher the competition on a keyword, the higher the CPC. You might also expect an average CPC to be lower if competition is lower.

Another element to consider when asking what a good cost per click is, “What is the nature of your targeted keyword?”

If someone is searching for your brand, your cost per click should be substantially lower than non-brand keywords.

If you’re bidding on your brand terms, your Ad Rank is highest for those terms. A high Ad Rank helps contribute to those lower CPCs.

Non-branded keywords have higher CPCs because of their competitive nature.

As mentioned above, when competition is high, CPCs for those terms are also naturally higher.

Ad rank is a vital factor that contributes to a good CPC.

Your bidding strategy and maximum CPC are factors that contribute to an ad rank score.

To sum it up, a good cost per click largely depends on the industry, competitiveness, and ad rank of your targeted keywords.

What Ad Platforms Use CPC Bidding?

Most all ad platforms use cost-per-click bidding.

The most common platforms would be Search platforms such as Google and Microsoft Ads.

While cost-per-click bidding is available on these platforms, they offer automated bidding strategies that encompass a maximum CPC bid.

Automated bidding strategies help take the busy work out of managing individual keyword bids.

Bidding strategies such as Maximize Clicks or Enhanced CPC allow you to set a maximum CPC.

Allowing the platforms to use its algorithm enables you to increase or decrease bids automatically based on an individual’s likelihood to click or convert.

Many social ad platforms that allow CPC bidding include:

  • Facebook.
  • Pinterest.
  • Snapchat.
  • TikTok.
  • Twitter.
  • LinkedIn.
  • DSPs.

So, no matter what ad platform you’re looking to test, chances are it has CPC bidding available.

What Are CPC And CPM?

Aside from CPC bidding, CPM bidding is another standard model in advertising.

CPM bidding is a model where advertisers pay per 1,000 impressions on their ads.

Simply put:

  • CPC: Pay per click.
  • CPM: Pay per thousand impressions.

The intent behind CPM bidding differs from CPC bidding because it focuses on views and impressions.

When choosing CPM bidding, an advertiser focuses more on ad reach than traffic.

CPM bids are typically lower than some CPCs because they’re mainly used in Display networks or for a broad reach on social platforms.

CPM bidding is a cost-efficient way to reach a large audience while keeping costs low.

So, when should you use CPM bidding instead of CPC bidding?

If the main goal of a campaign is awareness, CPM bidding would be a good choice.

Conclusion

Understanding cost-per-click bidding and what influences it is vital to PPC campaign success.

Additionally, while manual CPC bidding is still available, try testing out automated bid strategies for better efficiencies while still being able to manage your costs.

More resources:

  • The 6 Most Important PPC KPIs You Should Be Tracking
  • How to Develop Your PPC Strategy
  • PPC 101: A Complete Guide to Pay-Per-Click Marketing Basics

Featured Image: Cast Of Thousands/Shutterstock

Category Paid Media Strategy PPC

What Is Cost Per Click (CPC)? (2024)

FAQs

What Is Cost Per Click (CPC)? ›

Cost-per

Cost-per
A cost per action (CPA) is the total cost spent to receive the required actions by your customers. This action is typically a purchase, registration, signup, and many more. You can calculate the CPA by following the below formula: CPA = MC / A. CPA is the Cost per action.
https://support.google.com › google-ads › answer
-click (CPC) bidding means that you pay for each click on your ads. For CPC bidding campaigns, you set a maximum cost-per-click bid - or simply "max. CPC" - that's the highest amount that you're willing to pay for a click on your ad (unless you're setting bid adjustments, or using Enhanced CPC).

What is CPC cost clicks? ›

CPC (cost per click) is a metric that determines how much advertisers pay for the ads they place on websites or social media, based on the number of clicks the ad receives.

What is cost per click CPC quizlet? ›

Cost per click (CPC) is a method websites use to bill based on the number of times a visitor clicks on an advertisem*nt. The alternative is cost per thousand (CPM), which is the number of impressions, or viewers, in thousands, regardless of whether each viewer clicks on the advertisem*nt or not.

What is the cost per count CPC? ›

CPC): Definition. The average amount that you've been charged for a click on your ad. Average cost-per-click (avg. CPC) is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks.

How much does PPC cost per click? ›

How much does PPC cost per month? PPC costs $100 – $10,000 per month on average in 2024 (45% of respondents). Most businesses typically pay $0.11 – $0.50 per click and $0.51 – $1.00 per 1000 impressions on platforms like Google Ads and Microsoft Ads.

What is the CPC cost price? ›

CPC is calculated by dividing the total cost of the ad campaign by the number of clicks generated. CPC is a key indicator of advertising efficiency, with lower CPC values generally considered more cost-effective, while higher values may indicate a need for optimisation to improve the campaign's return on investment.

What is the basic formula of cost per click CPC? ›

How to calculate Cost-per-click. Cost-per-click, or CPC, is calculated by dividing the advertising cost by the number of clicks generated by an advertisem*nt. For example, if an advertiser paid $50 for 500 clicks on its ad, then the cost per click is 50/500, or $0.10.

What is manual cost-per-click CPC? ›

A manual cost-per-click (CPC) bid means that you pay for each click on your ad. For CPC campaigns, you set a maximum cost-per-click (max CPC) bid. This is the most you're willing to pay for a click on your ad.

What is the cost effective CPC? ›

CPC = total cost of campaign ÷ number of clicks

eCPC means effective cost per click and is used to show what the CPC would have been if the advertiser purchased clicks instead of impressions or conversions.

Who uses cost-per-click? ›

In simple terms, it refers to the amount an advertiser will pay to a publisher, in advertising costs, for each time their advertisem*nt is clicked on by a user. It is primarily associated with search engines, such as Google, Yahoo! and Bing, but also applies to social networking sites and other channels.

What is an example of cost-per-click? ›

A form of digital advertising, cost-per-click (CPC) is the actual price you pay a publisher every time an online user clicks on your ad. For example, if you're a small clothing boutique, you may run a CPC ad on Facebook to advertise a new dress.

What is the meaning of CPC? ›

Cost-per-click (CPC) bidding means that you pay for each click on your ads. For CPC bidding campaigns, you set a maximum cost-per-click bid - or simply "max. CPC" - that's the highest amount that you're willing to pay for a click on your ad (unless you're setting bid adjustments, or using Enhanced CPC).

How do you calculate CTR and CPC? ›

How to calculate CPC. CPC means “cost per click”, so the formula for it is as follows: CPC = total_cost / number_of_clicks . You may also caluclate it from CPM and CTR: CPC = (CPM / 1000) / (CTR / 100) = 0.1 * CPM / CTR .

What is the actual cost-per-click CPC? ›

Your actual cost-per-click (actual CPC) is the final amount you're charged for a click. You're often charged less -- sometimes much less -- than your maximum cost-per-click (max. CPC) bid, which is the most you'll typically be charged for a click. Actual CPC is often less than max.

Why is CPC important? ›

In advertising and marketing, CPC is vital because it helps you: Understand what you're spending to earn clicks on your ads. Compare how your ad campaigns perform against competitors. Recognize which ads, ad groups, or ad campaigns deliver the best ROI.

What is a good CPC? ›

What is a good CPC rate? A good CPC (cost per click) rate is determined by your ROI on the spend. If something costs $1, you want to make at least $1.20 back (at a minimum). A really good CPC rate would be to get $2 back for every $1 spent.

Why is my CPC so high in Google Ads? ›

If your competitors' Quality Score rises, so will your CPC. Therefore, if your CPC is increasing, it's likely your competitors are doing a better job at delivering a highly relevant ad campaign. And the path to a more meaningful ad experience is all about personalization.

What is a good CPC for Google Ads? ›

Industry

Your industry directly impacts your Google Ads costs. Overall, the average CPC in Google Ads across industries is $2.69 for Search and $0.63 for Display. Competitive industries such as finance, insurance, and fitness have a high average cost per click compared to other sectors.

What is the average cost-per-click CPC on Facebook? ›

General Average CPC: The average CPC on Facebook ads ranges widely from source to source, with one source citing an average of $0.97​​, while another indicates a range of $0.26 to $0.30​​. The median CPC across all industries in March 2023 was reported to be $0.40​​.

Why is CPC so expensive? ›

Increased Competition for Ad Space

When more advertisers target the same keywords, the competition in ad auctions intensifies, leading to higher bids and increased CPC. Additionally, if your ad's relevance or landing page experience scores decline, search engines may raise your CPC to maintain ad quality.

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