Cost-per-click (CPC): Definition - Google Ads Help (2024)

Send feedback on...

Cost-per-click (CPC) bidding means that you pay for each click on your ads. For CPC bidding campaigns, you set a maximum cost-per-click bid - or simply "max. CPC" - that's the highest amount that you're willing to pay for a click on your ad (unless you're setting bid adjustments, or using Enhanced CPC).

  • Your max. CPC is the most you'll typically be charged for a click, but you'll often be charged less -- sometimes much less. That final amount you're charged for a click is called your actual CPC.
  • If you enter a max. CPC bid and someone clicks your ad, that click won't cost you more than the maximum CPC bid amount that you set.
  • You'll choose between manual bidding (you choose your bid amounts) and automatic bidding (let Google set bids to try to get the most clicks within your budget).
  • CPC pricing is sometimes known as pay-per-click (PPC).

Bidding basics
See more articles about budgets and bids

Was this helpful?

How can we improve it?

Cost-per-click (CPC): Definition - Google Ads Help (1)

Achieve your advertising goals today!

Attend our Performance Max Masterclass, a livestream workshop session bringing together industry and Google ads PMax experts.

Register now

Cost-per-click (CPC): Definition - Google Ads Help (2024)

FAQs

Cost-per-click (CPC): Definition - Google Ads Help? ›

Cost-per-click (CPC) bidding means that you pay for each click on your ads. For CPC bidding campaigns, you set a maximum cost-per-click bid - or simply "max. CPC" - that's the highest amount that you're willing to pay for a click on your ad (unless you're setting bid adjustments, or using Enhanced CPC).

What is cost-per-click for Google Ads? ›

The average cost per click in Google Ads is between $2 and $4 on the Search Network. The average cost per click on the Display Network is under $1. The most expensive keywords in Google Ads and Bing Ads cost $50 or more per click.

What is a good cost-per-click CPC )? ›

In summary, a good cost-per-click is determined by your target ROI. For most businesses, a 20% cost-per-acquisition, or 5:1 ratio of revenue to ad cost, would be acceptable. From there, use the formulas provided above to determine the target cost-per-click for your advertising campaigns.

What is the actual cost-per-click CPC? ›

Actual cost-per-click (CPC): Definition. Your actual cost-per-click (actual CPC) is the final amount you're charged for a click. You're often charged less -- sometimes much less -- than your maximum cost-per-click (max. CPC) bid, which is the most you'll typically be charged for a click.

How do you calculate your actual cost-per-click (CPC)? ›

Average cost-per-click (avg. CPC) is calculated by dividing the total cost of your clicks by the total number of clicks.

What is CPC with an example? ›

Cost-per-click, or CPC, is calculated by dividing the advertising cost by the number of clicks generated by an advertisem*nt. For example, if an advertiser paid $50 for 500 clicks on its ad, then the cost per click is 50/500, or $0.10.

What is a good CPC for Google Ads? ›

Your industry directly impacts your Google Ads costs. Overall, the average CPC in Google Ads across industries is $2.69 for Search and $0.63 for Display. Competitive industries such as finance, insurance, and fitness have a high average cost per click compared to other sectors.

Why is my CPC so high in Google Ads? ›

Rising platform competition

Since auctions determine ad costs, your CPC directly links to how many competitors you're bidding against and how high they are willing to bid. Therefore, the most likely cause of a sharply rising CPC is an increase in platform competition.

How does Google calculate CPC? ›

Your Average CPC displayed on your Google Ads account is calculated at; keyword, ad, ad group, campaign, or account level. As Google Ads is a live auction, the result of each auction will differ depending on competitors, ad extensions, search term relevance, user location, etc.

Why is cost-per-click important? ›

Sponsored Products and Sponsored Brands use CPC to determine how much advertisers need to pay, based on the clicks of customers.

Why is CPC so expensive? ›

First and foremost, high competition is one of the main drivers of high CPC. If multiple advertisers are bidding on the same keywords or audience, the cost per click can quickly escalate as the competition for ad placement intensifies. Additionally, industry-specific factors can play a major role in determining CPC.

Why is CPC more expensive? ›

Increased Competition for Ad Space

This is because ad auctions determine the cost of advertising, and the number of competitors bidding and their willingness to pay can drive up the cost. To mitigate rising CPC, advertisers may need to adjust their bidding strategies or find new advertising channels.

What is cost per click CPC quizlet? ›

Cost per click (CPC) is a method websites use to bill based on the number of times a visitor clicks on an advertisem*nt.

Where should people go after clicking your ad? ›

People should go to a landing page that is relevant to the ad they clicked on. This means that the landing page should have the same information or offer that was in the ad.

How to check CPC for keywords? ›

Google Keyword Planner will provide you with insights for each keyword. The two columns "Top of page bid (low range)" and "Top of page bid (high range)” represent historical lower and upper range estimates for the CPC of that keyword.

Which countries have a low CPC? ›

Bahrain has an average CPC 90 percent less than the US average. Latvia has an average CPC 90 percent less than the US average. Slovenia has an average CPC 92 percent less than the US average. Somalia has an average CPC 92 percent less than the US average.

Why is my Google cost-per-click so high? ›

5 Factors That Affect Your Google Ads CPC

Quality score — A low Quality Score (i.e. less than 5/10) can increase your CPC by up to 400%. Keyword bids — Keyword level bids will override the limit you set at campaign or ad group level. Competition — Lots of competition for the same keyword will drive up the cost.

How do I reduce cost-per-click on Google Ads? ›

  1. 6 incredible ways to decrease CPC costs. So, your CPCs seem to be skyrocketing. ...
  2. Keep it relevant. You must be tired of hearing this one, right? ...
  3. Don't forget about Quality Score. ...
  4. Improve click-through rate (CTR) with ad testing. ...
  5. Lower your bids. ...
  6. Use negative keywords. ...
  7. Think about location, device, and ad schedule.

What is CPA in Google Ads? ›

A cost per action (CPA) is the total cost spent to receive the required actions by your customers. This action is typically a purchase, registration, signup, and many more.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Greg O'Connell

Last Updated:

Views: 5592

Rating: 4.1 / 5 (62 voted)

Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Greg O'Connell

Birthday: 1992-01-10

Address: Suite 517 2436 Jefferey Pass, Shanitaside, UT 27519

Phone: +2614651609714

Job: Education Developer

Hobby: Cooking, Gambling, Pottery, Shooting, Baseball, Singing, Snowboarding

Introduction: My name is Greg O'Connell, I am a delightful, colorful, talented, kind, lively, modern, tender person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.