What is ROAS? Calculating Return On Ad Spend | BigCommerce (2024)

Definition: Return On Advertising Spend, (ROAS), is a marketing metric that measures the efficacy of a digital advertising campaign. ROAS helps online businesses evaluate which methods are working and how they can improve future advertising efforts.

Calculating ROAS

Gross Revenue from Ad campaignROAS = _______________________

Cost of Ad Campaign

For example, a companyspends $2,000 on an online advertising campaign in a single month. In this month, the campaign results in revenue of $10,000. Therefore, the ROAS is a ratio of 5 to 1 (or 500 percent) as $10,000 divided by $2,000 = $5.

Revenue: $10,000___________________ ROAS = $5 OR 5:1

Cost: $2000

For every dollar that the company spends on its advertising campaign, it generates $5 worth of revenue.

Why Return On Ad Spend matters

ROAS is essential for quantitatively evaluating the performance of ad campaigns and how they contribute to an online store's bottom line. Combined with customer lifetime value, insights from ROAS across all campaigns inform future budgets, strategy, and overall marketing direction. By keeping careful tabs on ROAS, ecommerce companies can make informed decisions on where to invest their ad dollars and how they can become more efficient.

Don't forget these considerations when calculating ROAS

Advertising incurs more cost than just the listing fees. To calculate what it truly costs to run an advertising campaign, don't forget these factors:

  • **Partner/Vendor costs:**There are commonly fees and commissions associated with partners and vendors that assist on the campaign or channel level. An accurate accounting of in-house advertising personnel expenses such as salary and other related costs must be tabulated. If these factors are not accurately quantified, ROAS will not explain the efficacy of individual marketing efforts and its utility as a metric will decline.

  • **Affiliate Commission:**The percent commission paid to affiliates, as well as network transaction fees.

  • Clicks and Impressions:Metrics such as average cost per click, the total number of clicks, the average cost per thousand impressions, and the number of impressions actually purchased.

What ROAS is considered good?

An acceptable ROAS is influenced by profit margins, operating expenses, and the overall health of the business. While there's no "right" answer, a common ROAS benchmark is a 4:1 ratio — $4 revenue to $1 in ad spend. Cash-strapped start-ups may require higher margins, while online stores committed to growth can afford higher advertising costs.

Some businesses require an ROAS of 10:1 in order to stay profitable, and others can grow substantially at just 3:1. A business can only gauge its ROAS goal when it has a defined budget and firm handle on its profit margins. A large margin means that the business can survive a low ROAS; smaller margins are an indication the business must maintain low advertising costs. An ecommerce store in this situation must achieve a relatively high ROAS to reach profitability.

What is ROAS? Calculating Return On Ad Spend | BigCommerce (2024)

FAQs

What is ROAS? Calculating Return On Ad Spend | BigCommerce? ›

ROAS equals your total conversion value divided by your advertising costs. “Conversion value” measures the amount of revenue your business earns from a given conversion. If it costs you $20 in ad spend to sell one unit of a $100 product, your ROAS is 5—for each dollar you spend on advertising, you earn $5 back.

What is roas return on ad spend? ›

Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) is a marketing metric that measures revenue earned for each dollar you spend on advertising. By calculating and tracking ROAS, you gain insights on the effectiveness of your advertising.

How do I calculate my Roas? ›

ROAS Formula is: Revenue (total income from advertising) / Cost (total ads spend) = ROAS.

What is the ROI on ads spend? ›

This calculation allows marketers to measure how effective their ad campaigns are and determine whether they should continue to invest more money into them. The formula to calculate ROI for ads is the following: ROI = (Revenue - Cost of Ad) / Cost of Ad.

What is a good roas for ads? ›

What ROAS is considered good? An acceptable ROAS is influenced by profit margins, operating expenses, and the overall health of the business. While there's no "right" answer, a common ROAS benchmark is a 4:1 ratio — $4 revenue to $1 in ad spend.

Is a 2.5 roas good? ›

That said, there are some common benchmarks for a target ROAS, with the average ROAS across industries landing somewhere between 1.5 and 3. Anything above 3 is widely considered a success, or a high ROAS, although that depends on the competitiveness and saturation of your industry.

What does a roas of 1.5 mean? ›

Businesses use Return on Ad Spend – or ROAS – to measure the return on the money spent on advertising. For example, let's say you spend $100 on advertising, and your campaign results in $150 worth of sales. Your ROAS will be $1.5. In other words, you earn $1.5 for every $1 you spend on advertising; a $0.5 profit.

What is 3 roas to rule them all? ›

If we move back to the basics, at the core a business owner or head of marketing cares about three things: effectiveness, efficiency, and profits. This was the whole thesis of the 3 ROAS to Rule Them All essay. You need heuristics to measure and approximate the health of your marketing ecosystem.

What does 2.5 roas mean? ›

ROAS = Revenue attributable to ads / Cost of ads

For example, if you invest $100 into your ad campaign and generate $250 in revenue from those ads, your ROAS is 2.5.

Is roas always a percentage? ›

ROAS can be represented in dollar or percentage form, but a ratio of revenue to ad spend is the most common (ie: 4:1). If you are measuring ROAS as a percentage the equation would be Revenue/Cost X 100 – which gives you $4000/$1000 X 100 equalling 400%.

What is the difference between roas and ROI? ›

Defining ROAS and ROI

The metric measures how ads contribute to a brand's bottom line. While ROAS measures gross revenue generated for every dollar spent on advertising, ROI accounts for the amount you earn after expenses.

How much is a good ad spend? ›

5% Revenue Rule

There is also a general rule of thumb that you should aim at spending between 2-5% of your sales revenue on marketing. If your revenue were $1 million per year, your advertising and marketing budget should be $50,000 annually based on the 5% of sales revenue rule.

Is a 400% roas good? ›

Generating a higher ROAS can also lead to a bigger Google Ads budget, which gives you even more room to drive results for your company. So, what is a good ROAS for Google Ads? Anything above 400% — or a 4:1 return. In some cases, businesses may aim even higher than 400%.

Is a 2x roas good? ›

It depends on your profit margin is — there is no one-size-fits-all number. 2x RoAS might be great for one brand but terrible for another. If you have a small profit margin, you're going to need a higher RoAS for your ads to be profitable.

What does 5x roas mean? ›

ROAS = $5,000 (Revenue) / $1,000 (Amount Spent) = 5. So, the ROAS of this campaign is 5. That means for every dollar you spent on this ad campaign, you earned five dollars in return.

Is 5x roas good? ›

At a 5x or higher ROAS, your paid search campaigns are running well enough that you can probably start growing your business. After about 12 sales, you are turning a decent profit, which should enable you to get a bigger boat and book larger groups.

What is a good roas percentage? ›

Divide the revenue by the cost of the advertising. Multiply the result by 100 to get the percentage ROAS. If your ROAS is less than 100%, your advertising is at a loss. Your goal should be to reach a 400% ROAS.

What does 50% roas mean? ›

For example, if you spent $100 on your ad and only generated $50 in revenues, your ROAS would be 50%. A negative ROAS means it's time to reassess your creatives and marketing channels to discover where the problem lies, and optimize accordingly.

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